Home POLITICS Kola-Daisi, Fatai Buhari, Yunus Akintunde Win Oyo APC Senatorial Tickets

Kola-Daisi, Fatai Buhari, Yunus Akintunde Win Oyo APC Senatorial Tickets


Kolapo Kola-Daisi has won the ticket of the All Progressives Congress (APC) for Oyo South Senatorial District.

Kola-Daisi polled 212 votes to defeat the incumbent, Kola Balogun, who scored 93 votes; former Oyo State Secretary to the State Government (SSG), Sharafadeen Alli (107 votes); Adegboyega Adegoke (53 votes); Bimbo Adekanmbi (98 votes), Rotimi Adeniyi (four votes) and Waheed Olajide (two votes).

Six votes were voided in the primaries.

Recall that the Incumbent Oyo South Senator Kola Balogun, the younger brother of the Olubadan of Ibadan, Oba Lekan Balogun, defeated the late Governor Abiola Ajimobi to win the seat in 2019.

Kola-Daisi is a son-in-law to the late Governor Ajimobi.

Balogun won the seat on the platform of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) but recently defected to the APC after he was denied a second term ticket by Governor Seyi Makinde.

The primary, which could not hold on Friday as earlier planned, was rescheduled for Saturday and later Sunday due to inability of the aspirants and party leadership to resolve the discrepancies that arose on delegates’ lists.

The election held yesterday at the Le Chatteau Event Centre at Bodija in Ibadan, the state capital, amid heavy security.

In a related development, the senator representing Oyo North, Fatai Buhari, also won the party’s primary for a third term with 570 votes.

Buhari’s runner-up, Saheed Alaran, polled six votes, while the member representing Iseyin, Kajola, Itesiwaju and Iwajowa Federal Constituency in the House of Representatives, Shina Peller, had five votes.

The Oyo North senatorial primary which was supposed to hold on Saturday in Iseyin but couldn’t hold took place at OYSADA Sports Complex in Saki, Saki West Local Government Area.

However, member representing Iseyin, Itesiwaju, Kajola and Iwajowa Federal Constituency, Hon Shina Peller has rejected the outcome of the congress.

Peller who wasn’t present at the venue of the election alleged that the delegate list has been tampered with.

Similarly, a former Commissioner of Works And Transport in the administration of former Governor Abiola Ajimobi, Dr Yunus Akintunde, has won the All Progressives Congress (APC) tickets for Oyo Central Senatorial District.

Akintunde polled 238 votes to defeat his closest challenger, Engr. Faozey Oladotun Nurudeen, who scored 176 votes in the keenly contested election.

Wakil Oyedemi had 43 votes to place third, Bimbo Kolade recorded 30 votes while Kazeem Kolawole Raji polled five votes.

Previous articleKaduna Train Attack: Ango Abdullahi’s Son, Other Victims Beg FG For Help
Next articleTeslim Folarin: I Didn’t Send Hired Killers To Shina Peller, Says He’s Acting Makinde’s Script

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.